Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Mid-Pen selects stars

Norway lands three first teamers

October 25, 2012
The Daily News

IRON MOUNTAIN - Mid-Peninsula football coaches selected the league's all-stars at a meeting held at Pine Grove Wednesday morning.

Iron Mountain's Taylor Huotari earned a top accolade, sharing Special Teams Player of the Year with Tyler LaJoie of Negaunee.

Huotari also took recognition as a unanimous first-team pick at defensive back and a honorable mention at running back.

Teammate Paul Brooks was a unanimous vote at both first team fullback and inside linebacker.

Other Mountaineers selected to the league's all-conference offense included Matt Willman, a unanimous first team pick at center; Zach Haber, first team guard; and Zach Black as a first team tackle.

Additional defensive picks for the Mountaineers were Tony Ward, a unanimous selection at outside linebacker; Al Tomassoni, first team lineman; Andy Michaud, defensive end honorable mention; and Gerry Pirkola, honorable mention defensive back.

For the Norway Knights, Daniel Bal was a unanimous vote at first team defensive back. Isaac Bray earned first team at punter and honorable mention at quarterback. Austin Grayvold landed first team wide receiver, and Elliot Reid garnered honorable mention at tight end and defensive end.

Complete awards follow:

Varsity champions - Negaunee (Paul Jacobson)

JV co-champions - Norway (Rico Meneghini); Ishpeming (Dan Waterman).

Special Teams Player of the Year - Taylor Huotari, Iron Mountain/Tyler LaJoie, Negaunee. Honorable Mention - Tyrus Millimaki, Ishpeming.

Lineman of the Year - Brad Wootke, Ishpeming. Honorable Mention - Alex Dempsey, Negaunee.

Back of the Year - Eric Kostreva, Ishpeming. Honorable Mention - Kenner Broullire, Manistique.

Defensive Player of the Year - RJ Poirier, Ishpeming. Honorable Mention - Adam Francis, Negaunee.

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE (** indicates unanimous)

Center - Matt Willman**, Iron Mountain

Guard - Alex Dempsey, Negaunee; Jared Edwards, Manistique; Zach Haber, Iron Mountain.

Honorable Mention - John Sicotte, Gwinn; Justin Connors, Westwood.

Tackle - Brad Wootke**, Ishpeming; Zach Black, Iron Mountain.

Honorable Mention - Nolan Bergstrom, Negaunee; Cameron Lawry, Westwood; Mitchell Paris, Gwinn.

Tight End - Travis Swanson**, Westwood; Max Nelson, Manistique.

Honorable Mention - Seppi Bertucci, Ishpeming; Elliott Reid, Norway.

Wide Receiver - Brock Weaver**, Negaunee; Austin Grayvold, Norway.

Honorable Mention - Zach Lambert, Manistique.

Full Back - Paul Brooks**, Iron Mountain; Dustin Goupille, Negaunee; Zack Rankinen, Westwood.

Honorable Mention - Owen DeVooght, Gwinn.

Running Backs - Eric Kostreva**, Ishpeming; Kenner Broullire**, Manistique; Tyler LaJoie, Negaunee.

Honorable Mention - Francis Montbrun, Westwood; Taylor Huotari, Iron Mountain.

Quarterback - Tanner Uren**, Negaunee.

Honorable Mention - Tyler Kangas, Manistique; Alex Briones, Ishpeming; Nathan Clisch, Westwood; Isaac Bray, Norway.

FIRST TEAM DEFENSE (** Indicates unanimous)

Lineman - CJ Redfearn** Gwinn; Adam Prisk** Ishpeming; Al Tomassoni, Iron Mountain.

Honorable Mention - Tony Zampese, Negaunee.

End - Alex Dempsey, Negaunee; Joseph Lyle, Ishpeming.

Honorable Mention - Andy Michaud, Iron Mountain; Justin Connors, Westwood; Elliot Reid, Norway; Matt Gonzalez, Manistique.

Outside Linebacker - Tony Ward**, Iron Mountain; Bobby Zhulkie, Ishpeming.

Honorable Mention - Francios Montbrun, Westwood; Dustin Goupille, Negaunee.

Inside Linebacker - Paul Brooks**, Iron Mountain; RJ Poirier**, Ishpeming; Adam Francis, Negaunee.

Honorable Mention - Jared Edwards, Manistique; Honorable Mention Steve Uhlbeck, Gwinn.

Defensive Back - Taylor Houtari**, Iron Mountain; Daniel Ball**, Norway

Tyler LaJoie, Negaunee; Nathan Clisch, Westwood; Hunter Wirtanen, Ishpeming.

Honorable Mention - Noah Olgren, Ishpeming; Zach Lindemuth, Manistique; Luke Sinnaeve, Gwinn; Gerry Pirkola, Iron Mountain; Andrew Katona, Negaunee.

Kicker - Kenner Broullire**, Manistique.

Honorable Mention, Eric Dompierre Ishpeming.

Punter - Isaac Bray, Norway.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web