Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Nordics dominate Mid-Eastern awards

Reddinger named league’s top coach

October 23, 2012
The Daily News

FELCH - North Dickinson, Mid-Eastern Conference football champions for the past four years, has dominated the all-league team selected by the coaches.

In player of the year voting, Nordics' Dylan Dario (offensive lineman), Dominic Christian (defensive lineman) and Cody Berg (defensive back) garnered awards.

Berg intercepted five passes this season while Christian collected 39 tackles and five stops behind the line of scrimmage.

Article Photos

Dominic Christian

North Dickinson's Joe Reddinger was selected coach of the year.

Stephenson's Austin Grinsteiner snared the other major honor, taking home offensive back of the year.

North Dickinson landed first-team honors from Berg, end and defensive back; Dario, tackle; Brady Mashak, guard; Sean Conery, center; Dominic Christian, running back and defensive end; Ken Pekarek, quarterback and punter; Brad Gustafson, kicker and defensive interior line, and Jonas Christian, linebacker.

North Central had first-team picks in Andy Estrada, end; Zach Ryan, tackle; Josh Granquist, running back; Eric Prestay, defensive end; Dylan Hanchek, linebacker, and Rob Granquist, defensive back.

Nordics' Tim Hruska and Matt Schultz along with the Jets' Eric Prestay, Dylan Pohl, Rob Granquist, Dylan Hanchek, Damon Labre, Eric Prestay ****and Josh Granquist received honorable mention.

Mid-Eastern Conference first-team selections follow:


End - Cody Berg, North Dickinson; Travis Wangerin, Stephenson; Andy Estrada, North Central.

Tackle - Dylan Dario, North Dickinson; Zach Ryan, North Central; Austin Markesun, Stephenson.

Guard - Brady Mashak, North Dickinson; David Bayerl, Stephenson.

Center - Sean Conery, North Dickinson; Joe Pauquette, Munising.

Back - Dominic Christian, North Dickinson; Josh Granquist, North Central; Nolan Lukasik, Stephenson; Dionte Malone, Bark River-Harris.

Quarterback - Austin Grinsteiner, Stephenson; Ken Pekarek, North Dickinson.

Kicker - Dustin Brown, Newberry; Brad Gustafson, North Dickinson.


End - Dominc Christian, North Dickinson; Eric Prestay, North Central; Dustin Crosby, Newberry.

Interior line - Brad Gustafson, North Dickinson; TJ Raether, Stephenson; Taylor Weeks, Newberry; Ian McGinnis, Munising.

Linebacker - Jonas Christian, North Dickinson; Dylan Hanchek, North Central; Quinten Lukasik, Stephenson; James Young, Newberry; Mitchell Johnson, Bark River.

Back - Cody Berg, North Dickinson; Rob Granquist, North Central; Josh Eckert, Stephenson; Jordan Hood, Newberry.

Punter - Dustin Brown, Newberry; Ken Pekarek, North Dickinson.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web