Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Pembine seniors receive scholarships, awards

May 29, 2012
The Daily News

PEMBINE, Wis. - Several seniors at Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine School received scholarships at the school's annual academic awards program.

The following scholarships were awarded to the graduating seniors:

State of Wis. Academic Excellence - Brittany Grandaw.

American Fed. of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME #172E) - Anthony Schiefelbein

American Legion - Zachary Szprejda.

American Legion Auxiliary - Brittany Grandaw, Kara VanKirk, Elisabeth Vajko.

American Red Cross Young Minds Change Lives - Hunter Keeley, Michaela Schmidt, Zachary Szprejda.

Bank North-Non Traditional - Elisabeth Vajko.

Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine Alumni - Zachary Szprejda.

Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine Booster Club - Anthony Schiefelbein, Elisabeth Vajko.

Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine PTO - Zachary Szprejda, Katie Werner.

Mike Bryant Memorial - Zachary Szprejda, Katie Werner.

William Burton Memorial - Elisabeth Javko, Katie Werner.

The Daily News Student of the Year - Zachary Szprejda.

Dunbar Veterans Park - Kara VanKirk.

First National Bank of Niagara - Zachary Szprejda.

Forward Financial Credit Union - Michaela Schmidt.

Paul Ganshirt Memorial - Zachary Szprejda, Elisabeth Vajko, Katie Werner.

Lakeland College Faculty - Anthony Schiefelbein.

Northern Michigan University Certificate of Merit - Katie Werner.

Paul Overman Memorial - Katie Werner.

Panther Den - Brittany Grandaw, Michaela Schmidt, Zachary Szprejda.

Pembine Comm. Picnic Assoc. - Brittany Grandaw, Zachary Szprejda, Elisabeth Vajko.

Pembine Education Association - Brittany Grandaw, Elisabeth Vajko.

Pembine High School Student Council - Brittany Grandaw, Zachary Szprejda.

Albert & Marion Schaffer Memorial - Michaela Schmidt.

Specialty Granules Inc. (SGI) Corporation - Brittany Grandaw, Michaela Schmidt.

Dr. D.E. Thomas Awards - Brittany Grandaw, Zachary Szprejda, Kara VanKirk.

Dr. D.E. Thomas Technical Award - Michaela Schmidt.

Dr. D.E. Thomas/MMAC Award - Kara Van Kirk.

UW River Falls Freshman Scholarship - Brittany Grandaw

Wisconsin Covenant Scholar - Brittany Grandaw, Brian Luczak, Zachary Szprejda.

Xaarki Seidel, Jon Vajko and Emily Whitt were inducted to the Pembine High School Chapter of the National Honor Society during the awards program. Current members Rebekah French, Brittany Grandaw, Michaela Schmidt, Zac Szprejda and Kara VanKirk assisted Mr. Vince Czahor, National Honor Society Advisor, with the induction ceremony.

The following awards were also given:

Receiving perfect attendance pins - Seniors Michael Mattison, Anthony Schiefelbein and Zachary Szprejda, and Freshman Haylee Geib and Larissa Keeley.

Receiving Good Attendance Pins for missing less than two days this school year: Seniors Alexandria Bigelow, Hunter Keeley, Katie Werner , Juniors Sierra Duenweg, Ariana Faccio, Xaarki Seidel, Sophomores Dylon Bubb, Benjamin Dankert, Jenna Decker, Abby Frank, Trent Heath, Damon Newingham, Britney Stepien, Brittany Toll, Lisa VanKirk, and Freshmen Mirada Roberts.

Receiving varsity letters for Hi-Q were Rebekah French, Haylee Geib, Brittany Grandaw, Jason Ratulowski, Xaarki Seidel, Zachary Szprejda, Jonathan Vajko and Kara VanKirk.

Receiving forensic trophies for competing at the state competition were Kayleigh Betka, Jenna Decker, Cody Metras, Marissa Moloney, Hailey Parr, Mirada Roberts, Xaarki Seidel, Britney Stepien, Zac Szprejda, Kara VanKirk, Alex Whitt, and Emily Whitt.

Other awards:

Forensics participation pins - Elisabeth Vajko and Maria Miller.

Biology Award - Haylee Geib, Lisa VanKirk.

Environmental science award - Dustin Linsmeyer.

Chemistry award -Jon Vajko.

Physics award - Brittany Grandaw.

French I award - Miranda Kelly.

French II awards - Jenna Decker.

Technical Education shop award - Tyler Finder.

English department award - Michaela Schmidt.

Algebra I awards - Savannah Duenweg, Carmen Hirte, Scott Strasser.

Algebra II awards - Abby Frank, Lisa VanKirk.

Geometry award - Hailey Geib.

Trigonometry awards - Rebekah French, Hailey Parr, Jon Vajko.

College math - Michaela Schmidt, Xaarki Seidel.

Trades I math - Anthony Schiefelbein, Xaarki Seidel.

Calculus awards - Brittany Grandaw, Zachary Szprejda.

U.S. History award - Rebekah French.

World Geography award - Haylee Geib.

Current issues award - Ariana Faccio.

American Government award - Zachary Szprejda.

Social studies department award - Zachary Szprejda.

Yearbook awards - Abby Frank, Emily French, Michael Hubbard, Alexis Rolkosky, Evangeline Schmidt, Xaarki Seidel.

Keyboarding speed awards were awarded as follows:

Greater than 50 words per minute - Brad Linsmeyer, Gabby Johnson, Hailey Moncher, Mirada Roberts.

Personal finance - National Financial Capability Challenge Awards - Nicolette Schlicke, Michaela Schmidt, Zac Szprejda.

Business Co-Manager Awards for the Panther Den Store were Brittany Grandaw, Michaela Schmidt, Zac Szprejda, Emily Whitt.

Family and consumer education award - Cortney Ehlert.

Drama trophies for best actress - Jenna Decker, best actor - Dakota Roberts and spirit of the stage - Evangeline Schmidt.

Drama Club: Certificates of participation and pins went to the following cast and crew - Sierra Duenweg, Kayleigh Betka, Jenna Decker, Evangeline Schmidt, Haylee Geib, Kayla Lee, Mirada Roberts, Halie Gehling, Shyann Jossart, Abby Frank, Dakota Roberts, Molly Suelflow, Logan Wisniewski, Trent Heath, Michaela Schmidt, Maddie Mattson, Rebecca Woods, Sam Young, Savannah Duenweg, Danny Decker, Cortney Ehlert, Kiarah Betka, Becky French, Hailey Olson, Josh Grandaw, Brittany Grandaw, Anthony Schiefelbein, Xaarki Seidel.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web